Book Review- Brick Lane

Book Title: Brick Lane

Author: Monica Ali

Genres: Fiction, Romance novel


What happens when 18 year old Nazneen marries a man twice her age?

Leaving behind her village in Bangladesh for a block of flats in Tower Hamlets. We follow Nazneen’s life as an immigrant , a wife , a mother and even a lover.  The author touches on so many topics ‘cultural conflicts ‘ and ‘self growth’ are the two that stood out to me .

These issues are not only reflected through Nazneen, but also through the people around her. Her husband Chanu is a dreamer in need of a wake up call, her children struggle with life as third culture kids and then there’s Karim. I don’t want to give too much away , so let’s just say when the mind and body balance you gain self awareness.

Throughout the book there are letters exchanged between Nazneen and her sister Hasina. I personally found it really hard to follow as Hasinas English is quiet poor.  Incase you did’nt know there is a film based on this novel and yes it’s true what they say the book is better. Nonetheless I absolutely loved finally meeting the characters and recommend both the book and film to friends and family , that includes you!.

I would love to know your thoughts on Brick Lane and any recommendations on what novel I should read next?

As always share your comments and suggestions below!

Bye for now

x

16 thoughts on “Book Review- Brick Lane

  1. desertchameleonblog says:

    Salaam Sister. I read this book when it first came out and I was disappointed with the Karim/ Nazneen aspect of the story. I felt it was the most unrealistic part somehow.

    However, overall I did think it was a great book and a important story. Especially the aspects examining her experiences and feelings coming from Bangladesh to the UK. I think anyone who has not experienced being a immigrant should read the book for that only, just to get some insight to how it can feel coming to the UK from such a different place.

    I would recommend “White Teeth” by Zadie Smith, if you haven’t read it already. Wonderful, important, fascinating story.

    Like

  2. lubnakarim06 says:

    I never read on a topic like cultural conflicts….that was a true opinion by you on the book…I like it how you reviewed it….

    Like

  3. Nazima says:

    I haven’t heard of the movie or book! Sounds interesting but I can imagine it would be hard to follow if the English is poor to keep the authenticity. That is a hard balance to strike!

    Like

  4. ayeshafarhad says:

    reading the review and the comments i am so interested in reading the book now! I definitely want to read the book first and then watch the movie!

    Like

  5. Asbah Alaena says:

    It seems like an interesting story to me. Being an immigrant is difficult to say the least. I am an expat and it is still difficult in so many ways.

    and being so young and married – anyway i think i will watch a movie instead 🙂

    I love reading but no time these days :/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rush to Success says:

    This is Interesting. I used to Read Sahabiat by the Urdu writer. (the wives and daughters of the Prophet (p.b.u.h) and then I re-read again and again to feel the love and that really make me cry sometimes. They are for real. And the book travel home to home. Hence, after this book i never in much of Romance/ Fiction novels.
    Thank you for sharing.
    🙂

    Like

  7. arsenios says:

    As I felt the film focused too much on the Karim and Nazneen! I read this book when it first came out and I was disappointed with the Karim/ Nazneen aspect of the story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

