Life After Birth Project Submission| Anum

Submit Your Story

 Anum

Blog – The Spice Of Adulting

 

“The day doesn’t start or end anymore, it merges into night and the night merges into day”

I went into shower and felt something was weird. My vision was all funny and I couldn’t figure out why. Tried to rub my eyes and realized I had stepped into shower with my spectacles on. That, for me, was my  ‘Life After Birth’ incident.

With a 45 days old baby boy, absent mindedness has become second nature and two hours of uninterrupted sleep is the highlight of the day. The past 45 days have been a blur of nursing, diaper changing and rocking him to sleep. The day doesn’t start or end anymore. It merges into night and the night merges into day and before I know it, it’s another month already.

I am fortunate to have had help in the house so far. First it was my mother and now my mother-in-law is here to support me. So I do get to enjoy the liberty of combing my hair and sometimes even taking a shower when his highness is napping. But I swear I hear him cry when I’m in the washroom. Many a times, I have skipped washing my hair in a hurry to get out and soothe him, only to find out and that my ears were playing tricks on me and he’s peacefully asleep.

Every day I feel he’s becoming more and more attached to me. That he is nursing for comfort or to fall asleep, not because he’s hungry. Every day I feel it’s a bad habit that I must break. I know it would become very difficult for me to manage once I’m all on my own. But then I see how he calms down when I hold him and I think to myself, he’s not going to be this small for very long so I might as well snuggle him all I can. The way he looks up at me while nursing, eyes wide open, is what makes me forget if he’s nursing for food or for comfort.

If he wants his mama, he gets his mama!

Take part in The Life After Birth Project and share your experience. Find out how to submit your story here

img_4779-2

3 thoughts on “Life After Birth Project Submission| Anum

  1. shopping online says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

