Life After Birth Project Submission| Rahima Begum

Submit Your Story
Rahima Begum
      Follow on Instagram

“What happens when you decide to do this as a team and refuse extra support?”

I knew life was about to change for me the moment I found out I was pregnant. Motherhood began and life after birth started off beautifully. The skin to skin touch, the gifts, the photos and visits. I mean all that was great but what happens when you decide to do this as a team and refuse extra support?

Well, I chose not to get help from anyone except my husband. We wanted to do this together, we chose not to rely on our families, so we took on the hardship and from there on our journey began. Many sisters chose to stay with their families for extra support, and there is nothing wrong with that.

 “There were times I wanted to pack my bags too but for some reason fate did not allow me and nor did he.”

My husband reminded me that we made a promise to trust Allah, and each other. I wanted to go off, I wanted to give him a break, but his response was the same how I needed a break too. And you know what he was right we both deserved it, so we started to take turns caring for her.

I have my days off and so does he, he works and I do the house chores but when it comes to our daughter we both work as hard.Our arrival included arguments, laughter and tears but alhamdulilah (Praise be to God) today we are stronger than ever, bringing up a newborn was not easy but we overcame our obstacles by taking turns.

Overall, life after birth has been great because our daughter is the reason we both pray fajr salah on time. Alhamdulilah!
Take part in The Life After Birth Project and share your experience. Find out how to submit your story here

img_4779-2

Leave a Reply

