How To: Throw A Themed Party


My Little Nutbrown Hare is two years old!

Hooray πŸŽ‰

To celebrate I threw a little party for him at home and I’m glad to say it was a success. Planning his party reminded me of my recent role this year  as ‘Wedding planner’.

But unlike my sister, my son isn’t going to remember any of the blood sweat and tears I put into planning 😰 . Here are a few ideas you might like to include for your little ones party.

Pick a theme – Any theme!

Everybody loves a theme, a theme  gives a party a little direction.  This year we chose Peppa Pig,  like most toddlers my Nutbrown is only

” THE BIGGEST PEPPA PIG FAN EVER! “

That meant paper plates, napkins and cups had peppa pig written all over it. So pick a theme and stick to it! Involve your guests too,we handed out peppa pig face masks to everyone.



A special invitation

Go paperless! That’s right I sent out E-invites via email and whatsapp. Simply choose an image in keeping with your theme and edit it using the many apps now available. Ta Dah !!! invites sent out and I did my bit for the environment (kind of)


Crafting fingers on standby – D.I.Y Decorations

I created a number prop which was great for pictures and can even be used as table decoration.


I also stuck Peppa images to craft sticks (if you have time add labels) and use it as food signs!


And finally tassle garlands are all the rage and easy to make , of course use a colour code in keeping with your theme.


Cupcake Display 

I love a fairy cake stand! I didn’t bake my own cupcakes but I did insert the edible Peppa Pig cake toppers.


Fly like a Balloon

I searched high and low for helium Peppa  Pig balloons unfortunately it was sold out in all four of the stores I visited πŸ™ . No children’s party is complete without balloons , if like me you can’t find character balloons then stick with balloons that match with the colour code for your theme.


All eyes on the Birthday Cake 

Last year we opted for a personalised birthday cake selecting our own image and birthday message. This year I was short of time so we chose a shop brought cake. To add a special touch we had a number two sparkler candle and everything came to life. Little Nutbrown loved it!


So lovelies be brave , get organised and don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!

Do share your special party tricks and treats with me πŸ’–

Happy Party Planning!

17 thoughts on “How To: Throw A Themed Party

  1. usranaeem says:

    Woohoo it looks so great❀
    And happy belated birthday to your son.
    I’ll apply all the points for my friends birthday because I am planning to arrange a surprise for her.
    Let’s see how it will turn.
    Thanks for sharing some great ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meera says:

    Wow it looks just great. I remember how my cousin organised her one year old’s birthday. It was hectic but the output was ppl great. I loved the Number prop, cup cake stand and the sparkler candle ideas. Your lil boy will come to know of how much effort you put into this party to come alive.. when he grows old and see these pictures. Quite lovely πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

