5 Things British Asian kids in the 90’s will remember!

Tomagotchi’s, Spice Girls, Rugrats and even Alien babies in goo! If you don’t know what i’m talking about ask someone who grew up in the best year ever!


Welcome to the 90’s baby!

Growing up as a British Asian in the 90’s for me meant…

1 .

I WAS INDIAN – After all India was not only a country but a continent and India was the only country in it! Nowadays Im recognised as a Bangladeshi 🙂 By the way the majority of Indian Restaurants in the UK are owned by Bangladeshi’s!

2.

I WAS A VEGETARIAN– Nobody knew what halal was back then, not even my primary school teachers. Whenever the dinner lady served me a sausage in the lunch hall my response would be “I am a vegetarian”. Now I can buy halal sausages from Tesco!

3.

I ATTENDED LANGUAGE CLASSES– My parents sent my siblings and I to Bengali School every weekend. I got a GCSE out of it!

4.

I LOVED KONNIE HUQ- Hats off to Blue Peters Konnie Huq if she can make it so could I!

5.

I WAS PRINCESS JASMINE– I could soo relate to her and yes I married my Aladdin ♥

What’s your favourite memory of the 90’s?

BritDeshiMummyLogo

5 thoughts on “5 Things British Asian kids in the 90’s will remember!

  1. Natasha In Oz says:

    I loved this post! I have Sri Lankan heritage so I encountered all kinds of issues when it came to food. I was eating hot curries when others were eating steak and chips…very weird back in the ’70s!

    Thanks for sharing your fun post. I’ve pinned it and shared on Twitter!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha in Oz

    Liked by 1 person

    • BritDeshiMummy says:

      Things have changed so much now! I live in lovely London am so lucky to meet people from all over the world and different backgrounds here right on my door step! Thanks stopping by and for sharing ❤️

      Like

  2. hijabiinlondon says:

    I remember being a vegetarian:'(. All we wanted was halal meat..(crying). I also remember Jasmine from Alladdin. What else..hmmm, maybe nobody knowing where I came from (Malaysia) and being the only Asian/Muslim in class.

    This does bring back memories

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

