Choosing a name for your blog

image

Five blog posts, a hand full of followers and two hundred plus hits later! ; Britdeshimummy is beginning to take shape.

Coming up with the “perfect” blog name can be difficult. I’m hoping I can be of some assistance by sharing with you how I came up with mine.

So why Brideshimummy?

The answer: I asked a lot of questions!

Why do you want to blog❓

What will you blog about❓

From the early stages of my pregnancy mummy bloggers have been my “go to guys” when it came to things like coping with morning sickness or deciding what to pack in my hospital bag . Bloggers had the answers.

Bloggers have inspired me to blog today! I’m hoping that someone somewhere will take something positive away from what I like to call my “open journal”

This led me to my next question

Who am I

There are hundreds and thousands of mummy bloggers out there, so what makes my blog so different

ME.

I am.

You see everyone is unique you are your own U.S.P that’s what will make your blog stand out from the rest!

Now to dig a little deeper…

Who will be reading your blog

In other words, who is my target audience? Of course my blog welcomes everyone especially you!  All I ask is you bring your own cuppa  ☕️.  There is however a 50% chance that your a mummy just like me!

And that’s how “Britdeshimummy” came about.

Other things to consider :

  • I think the name itself should be self explanatory as you don’t want readers guessing what your blog is about.
  • Include your niche USP Eg ; “Brit”= British, “Deshi”= desi (someone belonging to the Indian subcontinent.) “Desh” also means country in Bengali.
  • Don’t restrict yourself. I feel my blog title allows me to write about various topics and is something that I can work with in years to comes allowing me to “grow with my blog”.                  



I hope this has been useful. I am a newbie blogger and am simply trying to pass on what I have learnt on my journey so far.

Please do subscribe, follow, share and remember to hit the like button. I would love to hear your thoughs and ideas!

P.S
 ➡️ To all my lovelies who have already subscribed you may have noticed my new look! 💅🏽👄💁🏻

I am pleased to have been offered a free logo and header makeover by Vanessa the founder of “Simple and Vanessa”, they are a customised design site and I must say I am more than happy with the results!

Happy Blogging Lovelies!

22 thoughts on “Choosing a name for your blog

    • BritDeshiMummy says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I agree it’s really ‘important’. Your blog content is like a reflection of you or at least a part of you, so with that in mind your blog name is a reflection of yourself!

      Like

  1. Fatima says:

    You’re so right that every blogger has thier own sense of style and the way they write to keep the readers glued to their website. Each person’s USP is their writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amina Edota says:

    Interesting… we were just discussing this today at an entrepreneurial session ‘choosing a name’. Its great how you combined the names… I love the logo and header – very clean and fresh looking.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. muslimahmom16 says:

    Your story sounds more like mine, sis. Reasons not far-fetched. My blog is also a mummy blog and I was inspired to start it, by the informative posts I read on the internet when I was pregnant with my second child. And to cap it all? I had my site designed by Vanessa too.

    You just presented the brain tasking part of blog naming in a simple, easy to decipher way. Thanks for sharing this. xo

    Will be visiting your site more, in shaa Allaah.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Meera says:

    Choosing my blog name was easier for me. When I decided to blog, the name just hit me. The first and my only option. During my initial months, I had no better topics to write about because I’m not a writer, basically. However, I’m glad I’m still here having my own niche and name in the blogging world, after 4+ years. Alhamdulillah. Happy to know your reasons and thought process. Keep blogging! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

